Print Print
March 31, 2010 Published in Sports

Bishop Ireton Varsity Crews Remain Undefeated, Sweep Cindy Cole Cup Championship, Retain Bishop’s Cup

Ireton Crews Remain Undefeated (Courtesy Photo)

The Bishop Ireton Crew team took home four championship cups this weekend  winning the men’s, women’s, and combined overall trophies of the Cindy Cole Cup championship, and the  Bishop’s Cup.  The teams competing in the event included Walt Whitman, Holy Cross, Bishop O’Connell, Sidwell Friends, Blair, Walter Johnson, and Gunston Day School.

In the Bishop’s Cup (Ireton/O’Connell dual race) event, it was nearly a clean sweep for the Cardinals over Bishop O’Connell as Ireton decisively won 7 of 8 races against the Knights.

The Ireton Women’s Varsity 8+ (8-0) took down a strong crew from Walt Whitman high school. In the morning the Cardinals rowed easily through the heats knocking out Whitman B and Walter Johnson. The Women’s Varsity 8+ in the grand final looked sharp rowing 4 strokes per minute lower than the competition and took command of the race early defeating O’Connell, Whitman, and Sidwell with a time of 6:11.04  The Varsity Women’s 8+ had just come off the water after splitting up into fours and winning the Varsity 4+ and 2nd Varsity 4+ by open water rowing 26 strokes per minute. Both fours rowed a time of 7:01.8. The Women’s Varsity 8+ this week was comprised of Coxswain Katie O’Neill, Katherine Aust, Sarah Morgan, Olivia Babiec, Catherine Burgin, Meredith Ramey, Helen Fonda, Lily Ramey and Cecilia Baxter.

The Men’s Varsity 8+ (5-0) won decisively over two Whitman crews and Bishop O’Connell with a time of 5:20.2.  The Men’s Varsity 8+ included Coxswain Amanda Krauss, Garrett Hulfish, Patrick Walsh, Ryan Dougherty, Thaddeus Babiec, Jacob Ramey, Chris Ring, Neil Heitbrink and Jimmy Fonda.  The Men’s 2nd Varsity 8+ won by open water over Whitman, Walter Johnson, and O’Connell. Other victories included the Women’s Freshmen 8+ and Men’s Varsity 4+.  The Men’s 2nd 8+ included coxswain Caitlin Lucas, Joe Morgan, Nathan Hahn, Justin Roczniak, RJ Nagel, Sean Scalsky, Mike McCabe, Frank Kozuch, and Zach Deforge.

Father Edwin Perez blessing new shell (Courtesy Photo

As part of the day’s events, a blessing of a new racing shell was performed by Fr. Edwin Perez, Bishop Ireton chaplain.

The Cardinals represented well and now look forward to good training in South Carolina at a crew camp sponsored by Clemson University during Spring Break.

Results can be viewed on