Print Print
June 13, 2011 Published in Schools, Top Stories

T.C. Williams Celebrates Seniors

By Alex Hampl

T. C. Williams High School honored its seniors on Monday night in a ceremony that for the first time included academics and athletics.

Eric Fries and Eleanor Kenimer are T.C. Williams' valedictorian and salutatorian. PHOTO: Alex Hampl

T. C. hosted the “Night of Senior Stars” where faculty gave out awards for academics and athletics in addition to crowning the school’s valedictorian, salutatorian, male athlete of the year and female athlete of the year.

Eric Fries (University of Virginia) was named valedictorian, and Eleanor Kenimer (Duke University) was salutatorian. Tyrell Sitton (St. Bonaventure University) claimed the Robert Meisky Award after playing for the football and basketball teams, and Anjuli DeWakar (Columbia University) of the field hockey and lacrosse teams took home the Robert Rixse award.

Tyrell Sitton won the Robert Meisky Best Male Athlete Award. PHOTO: Alex Hampl

Several lucrative scholarships were also presented during the ceremony. Ivan Kyle Borces (Bucknell) earned a $140,000 dollar four-year scholarship from The Posse Foundation. Kasey Kraft (Virginia Tech University) earned a Naval ROTC scholarship worth up to $180,000. Christina Carr (James Madison University) earned a $5,000 scholarship from the Northern Virginia Urban League and Samantha Donis (Johns Hopkins University) earned a $2,000 scholarship from the Ronald McDonald House Charities of Greater Washington, D.C.

Principal Suzanne Maxey concluded the evening by saying, “What I liked best about this evening was… it’s been very refreshing to see the variety of young people that won awards. It shows the diversity and excellence that permeate these awards.”

Anjulie DeWakar won the Robert Rixse Female Athlete of the Year Award. PHOTO: Alex Hampl

Post to Twitter

Comments are closed.