Print Print
March 26, 2012 Published in Schools, Top Stories

Sarah Kiyak Wins Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award

The Washington Post today recognizes 18 principals with the Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards and 21 teachers with the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards for their commitment to improve classroom learning through creative and quality instruction and their unwavering dedication to strengthening education in the Washington Metropolitan Region. Winners were chosen by each participating public school system from over 100 nominations and will be honored at two separate events at The Post in May.

Kiyak teaches English at T. C. Williams High School. She is also the faculty sponsor of the Model UN Club and the adult to whom many students go for support and advice, according to several current and former students.

"Ms. Kihak is awesome," said one former student. "She demands excellence and then helps you attain it."

The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards, which began in 1983, acknowledge teachers who work hard to ensure children receive a high-quality education.

“After almost 30 years, these awards continue to be the only program of its kind in our area and we are thrilled to celebrate the great work of these teachers and principals,” said Katharine Weymouth, Publisher of The Washington Post. “The selection process is a true community effort which begins with an open call for nominations and culminates with the school districts’ selection of the winners, adding to the prestige of the awards.”

Recipients of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards will each receive $3,000 and winners of both awards will be featured in a congratulatory ad in The Washington Post.

The winners of the Distinguished Educational Leadership Award are:

·         Frances Nussle, Linthicum Elementary School (Anne Arundel County)

·         Lisa Piehota, Patrick Henry Elementary School (Arlington County)

·         Sylvia Lawson, Northern High School (Calvert County)

·         Thomas Weirich, Robert D. Stethem Educational Center (Charles County)

·         Michelle Molitor, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School (District of Columbia)

·         Liz Whisnant, Mann Elementary School (District of Columbia)

·         Robyn Cochran, Dogwood Elementary School (Fairfax County)

·         Patricia Comstock, P.B. Smith Elementary School (Fauquier County)

·         Debra Myers, Thurmont Primary School (Frederick County)

·         Marcia Leonard, Hammond High School (Howard County)

·         James Dallas, Cedar Lane Elementary School (Loudoun County)

·         Ashley Cramp, Baldwin Elementary School (Manassas City)

·         Jeanette Dixon, Paint Branch High School (Montgomery County)

·         Dierdra Tramel, Frances Fuchs ECC (Prince George's County)

·         Amy Ethridge-Conti, Battlefield High School (Prince William County)

·         Joan Mele-McCarthy, The Summit School (Private School)

·         Lisa Bachner, Leonardtown Middle School (St. Mary's County)

·         William Boatwright, A.G. Wright Middle School (Stafford County)


The winners of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award are:

·         Sarah Kiyak, T.C. Williams High School (Alexandria City)

·         Sarah Jester, Northeast High School (Anne Arundel County)

·         Laurell Wiersma, Wakefield High School (Arlington County)

·         Jon VanDeventer, Patuxent High School (Calvert County)

·         David Bradshaw, Maurice J. McDonough High School (Charles County)

·         Julian Hipkins, III, Capitol City Public Charter School - Upper School (District of Columbia)

·         Arnita Meekins, Tubman Elementary School (District of Columbia)

·         Charles Sabatier, Mount Vernon High School (Fairfax County)

·         Karin Tooze, George Mason High School (Falls Church City)

·         George Murphy, Fauquier High School (Fauquier County)

·         Deborah Jean Moore Winkles, Urbana High School (Frederick County)

·         Lisa Young, Atholton Elementary School (Howard County)

·         Andrea Schlegel, Heritage High School (Loudoun County)

·         Francie Vandivere, R.C. Haydon Elementary School (Manassas City)

·         Dawn Woolley, Cougar Elementary School (Manassas Park)

·         Carrie Vieira, Rockville High School (Montgomery County)

·         Walter Harley, Oxon Hill High School (Prince Georges County)

·         Lydia Stewart, Osbourn Park High School (Prince William County)

·         Raymond Nighan, St. John's College High School (Private School)

·         Elizabeth Dyson, Great Mills High School (St. Mary's County)

·         Nicholas Martino, Mountain View High School (Stafford County)

Post to Twitter