July 19, 2017 Published in Business, Other News

Lucinda Maine Of Alexandria, VA Inducted Into The Alabama Pharmacy Hall Of Fame

Lucinda Maine, left, accepts her Alabama Pharmacy Hall of Fame Award from Anthony Brooklere (Courtesy Photo)

On June 19, 2017, Lucinda Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph. of Alexandria, VA, was inducted into the Alabama Pharmacy Hall of Fame at the Alabama Pharmacy Association 136th Annual Convention, held at the Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort in Destin, FL.

Although not born in Alabama, Maine moved to Mobile as a young girl. When it was time to choose a college, she chose the Auburn University School of Pharmacy. There she was elected President of the American Pharmacists Association student chapter. She graduated in 1980 and began work as a staff pharmacist at Mobile Infirmary. However, further education was calling and she completed her doctorate at the University of Minnesota in 1985 while simultaneously working as an Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice. As a faculty member there, she practiced in the field of geriatrics.

A move back to Alabama was next and from 1986-1991 she served in the roles of Director of Professional Relations, Acting Dean, and Associate Dean for Student and Alumni for the Samford University School of Pharmacy.

Alabama couldn’t hold her when the APhA came calling in 1992. There she served as a Senior Director/Vice President for Policy, Planning and Communications for ten years where she analyzed trends in healthcare, assessing the implications for pharmacy practice and advocated for appropriate recognition for all pharmacists. For the past 15 years, she has served as the Executive Vice President and CEO of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

While it takes most people decades to achieve the Bowl of Hygeia Award, Maine’s passion for pharmacy and giving back earned her pharmacy’s most prestigious honor at the ripe old age of 34; making her the youngest recipient in Alabama to this day. Other honors include the 2004 Linwood F. Tice Award; the 1999 Auburn University Walker Scholar in Practice; the 1999 Kappa Psi Bliss Award; University of Minnesota Outstanding Alumnus Award; Albert B. Prescott/Glaxo Leadership Award; Kellogg Clinical Scientist Research Achievement Award; Kappa Epsilon Outstanding Woman in Pharmacy Award; Phi Lambda Sigma Graduate Award; Auburn University President’s Award; Phi Lambda Sigma National Leadership Award; Student’s Pharmaceutical Association Award; the 2010 Jacob Miller Award from the APhA Foundation; and the 1997 Kappa Epsilon/Merck Vanguard Leadership Award.

Maine has been active in leadership roles in and out of the profession. In 1988-90, she served as Speaker of the APhA House of Delegates and an APhA trustee. She served as co-lead for the Concept Pharmacy project from 1995-97 which led to the formation of the National Alliance for Pharmaceutical Care; and from 1992-2012 she was a member of the Stabler Leadbetter Apothecary Museum Board. Maine currently serves as Treasurer of the Board of Research America, and as a member of the American Pharmaceutical Association Board and Executive Committee.

“Lucinda’s pharmacy career started here and her vast contributions earned her recognition on the national level. We are proud to call her one of Alabama’s own and APA is pleased to be able to recognize her work through her induction into the Hall of Fame,” said Louise Jones, APA Executive Director.

The Alabama Pharmacy Hall of Fame was established in 2015 and acknowledges achievements by those engaged in the profession of pharmacy, whether alive or deceased, and recognizes their outstanding contributions or exemplary service to pharmacy and/or to healthcare. This can be demonstrated through exceptional achievement over the life of their career in pharmacy or an exceptional act during their career, or both.

The Alabama Pharmacy Association is a nonprofit professional organization with over 2,600 members statewide. The APA offers continuing education programs for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. Members take a leading role in lobbying for pharmacy at the state and national level. The APA was established in 1881 and is the oldest professional organization for pharmacy in the state. APA members represent all practices of pharmacy and are committed to their profession and their patients.

Comments are closed.