By Katie Smythe

BI Cardinals dominate 2018 Alexandria City Wrestling Championship (Photo: Katie Smythe)

The Bishop Ireton Cardinals retained their title as the Alexandria City Wrestling Champions, winning for the third consecutive year. In the annual showdown with the four area high schools – Bishop Ireton, Episcopal, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, and T. C. Williams – the Cardinals came out on top in all three head-to-head competitions to capture the 2018 Alexandria City Championship title on Jan. 15.

The MVPs from Bishop Ireton were William Olson (Sr), who wrestles in the 152 pound weight class, and Charlie Nyerges (Jr) at 285 pounds. Both went 3-0 on the day. 

“I think our guys wrestled well,” said Ireton head coach Kwinten Brown. “They really wanted to win the Alexandria City Championship for our senior captain Henry Somerville who lost his father the week before.

“We made a few mistake but a lot of the mistakes were our guys trying new things. As we prepare for the WCAC and VISAA tournaments, a lot of our guys are trying to get better with hopes of being conference and state finalist. This meet was good for them to figure out what works and what does not work,” Coach Brown said. 

The overall results for the quad meet follow.  

Bishop Ireton 59, T. C. Williams 9
Bishop Ireton 63, Episcopal 18
Bishop Ireton 63, SSSAS 15

T. C. Williams 48, Episcopal 30
Episcopal 36, SSSAS 30
SSSAS 42, T. C. Williams 42 with SSSAS winning by tiebreak criteria

Bishop Ireton also dominated the competition the previous two years to win the 2017 and 2016 championships. In 2017, SSSAS took second place, while Episcopal finished second in 2016. The previous year, T. C. Williams won the title against Episcopal and St. Stephens & St. Agnes. Bishop Ireton could not participate in 2015 because of a weather-related school closure on the day of the competition. In 2014, Episcopal and SSSAS took top honors as co-winners. In 2013, T. C. Williams was the tournament champion.

See more photos from the event.

2018 Alexandria City Wrestling Championship