The Lyceum (courtesy photo)

Every April the Alexandria Historical Society presents the T. Michael Miller Alexandria History Award to a person or persons who have made noteworthy contributions to the preservation of the historic, cultural, and artistic heritage of Alexandria. The awards event is on April 25 at 7:30 p.m. at The Lyceum, 201 S Washington Street, Alexandria.

This year’s recipient is Michael Commisso who chaired the committee that produced the Old Town Alley Survey. In addition, outstanding history students from Alexandria’s four high schools are given an Alexandria High School History Award. This year’s recipients are  Madeleine McDade from Bishop Ireton, Juliet Faris from Episcopal, Lilly Cady from St. Stephen’s and St. Agnes, and Jackson Dupont from T. C. Williams. Lance Mallamo, former Director of the Office of Historic Alexandria, will give the keynote address.

All are welcome. This is a free event.